Opposition in the Home

I live in a home where we walk on eggshells. We are scrutinized, criticized, accused, critiqued and unless we do what is expected or approved of ahead of time, we could be shamed and put down or at the least washed in angry sarcasm by my husband. No one in the family can breathe freely. Me either most of the time. And this weighs on me. It is abusive. It hurts. It is not comfortable. And I stay. Why? Because I am married and will stay. Marriage is not a walk in the park, especially when one believes they are the only smart or worthy one in the family. This is excrutiating at times, especially with the kids, specifically my son who gets the brunt of it. Why tell this? Because it seems like now when people encounter opposition in marriage, they don’t stay, they leave. It is what I did before. And I drug my son through a divorce that broke his heart. I will never do that to a child again. And I pray and trust God. My relationship with the Lord has deepened and I love Him deeper than I ever have because I rely on Him alone. I rely on God for comfort, for assurance, for the hope of heaven, for gentleness, for love. And I am teaching my kids to rely on God too. And it is working, they are. That is an amazing gift to give, the most important ever. So there are always reasons to stay and pray and work through it and do the best you can. And there is much good also, just the negative is on my mind because I was just yelled at. But the good also exists, he pays the bills, is bettering the house, does teach the kids also, plays great guitar, takes us out to eat, etc. So I am also demonstrating how to find and remember the good, even when the bad is obvious. The truth is bad and good are never exclusive. One always is present with the other because God is everywhere and the devil/evil lives on earth. So you can focus on the badness or the goodness. And I choose to focus on the goodness. I have to, Jesus commanded it. So it is good. Life is what you make of it. So is marriage. ❤

2 thoughts on “Opposition in the Home

  1. May the blessings of God, richly flow over you and your family. At times we take the path less traveled, learn to love and forgive, and to walk in deep relationship with the Lord. Growth happens in the difficult seasons. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

