Bettering vs Obeying

There is much celebrated emphasis on bettering yourself, self-love, self-awareness, all very self-centered. And while we are all very important, from the homeless beggar to the king on velvet, we are not the only person our lives should be about. I have felt lately that my greatest strength (and I am notably strong in many areas) is the decision to humbly obey and worship God. Humble obedience says the opposite of self-centeredness. It says I am not nearly as important as my Creator God and He deserves my respect and worship and the honor of humbly obeying His ideals for my life. He knows what is best for me and everyone and I trust Him completely. That humble obedience is stronger and more deeply fulfilling than a million people focusing on what greatness I may possess. The Creator is greater by a million times than the created. And that is true even though we are lovingly and purposely made and thus very important. Focus is the key. Knowing our God is phenomenally motivated. How beautiful He is is poured into His beautiful creation, seen all around us in soft landscapes, glorious sunsets and the beautiful souls of people of all ages, races, backgrounds, textures, passions, pursuits. The diversity of beauty He created should put God on the highest throne of the world, a place of high esteem and honor and of course love and respect. I serve an amazing, magnificent God. I am proud to be humble and obey and worship Him. That is worth the emphasis of my life. ❤❤❤

Leave a Reply

