Tiny Touches

For me, the hardest thing to be patient with is the little minute details of most anything, being born a big picture person. My family are all detail people. This had caused much disparity over the years, to say the least. However, when it comes to art, and quilting specifically at this moment, I drum up an endless supply of patience for the details. Why? Because art trumps everything as my most natural form of worship and I will be excellent at it if I can. Art quality is separated in excellence by the tiny touches, the details. It is these tiny touches I am working on now with my quilt. I have handset two fabrics together into a square and am now using a template to finish a smaller square. 99 of them, to be specific. It will be the crown detail on the quilt and although much time is required, it is a gift given in exchange for a more no wee auto full quilt. I need to find a way to incorporate the same lesson into my life in every way. The down side of being a big picture person is the details for excellence are chore. But maybe if I consider all of life a beautiful artwork, I can get better at the tiny touches that make such a difference. ☺

Leave a Reply

