Never a Disouraging Word

From a family that jokes a lot and teases and cajoles, I was once like that with my words. It seemed funny. It got a lot of laughs. But I recently repented of that and used my humor in a different way. Why? All harmless fun, right? I underestimated the power of words, they are so over-under and over-spoken that it is easy to become careless to their power. It struck me as I was reading my Bible how few words were spoken. How often there was silence as a reply. How very powerful and full of meaning and purpose those words were when spoken. Any joking, teasing, kidding where another person or yourself is berated is not in line with “let your yes be yes and no be no; anything more than yes or no is of the devil” or “speak only with words that edify each other”. I realized I needed a word adjustment. People are precious and valuable to God and He wants us to help each other on every level in worship to Him. We should not say anything to another person we would not say to Him. That is my new goal. I will serious up a bit with my words and put that energy into truthful encouragement. Of course, I have to talk, but I will talk gooder. Lol I will retrain myself to only edify, encourage with truth. Looking forward to the challenge of becoming habitual at it. 🙂 ❤ 

Leave a Reply

