Trailer Park Playground

When I was young, pre-10, I lived in a rough and ready, salt of the earth trailer park with my parents and sister. My sister was an indoor child, preferring Barbie dolls of which mom made homemade clothes for (gag!). I preferred action. I loved riding my bike a lot, plating on our gym set a lot, pretending to be a super hero (Incredible Hulk mostly, don’t laugh), play the piano or bounce for hours on the rebounder on too-rainy days, etc. But my favorite outdoor thing was the trailer park playground. I could usually round up some other action-oriented kids and play wild imaginary adventures on the jungle gym. It was an effort to reach my short chunky legs between the really wide bars to go up, took a lot of strategy. I would learn some secular songs the kids sang (we were only allowed to listen to Christian or a little country), we would fight, we made up with a friendly slug in the arm, we would play again. The sandbox was enormous and whole world’s were reenacted therr, best after a good rain when we could build up mountains. The swings were the real ones that squeaked and we’re about 30 feet tall. We tried our best to go all the way around the top. And a lot if life was lived on that pkayground. Mostly alone, sometimes there were other people, but even then I was never alone and prayed. I had real talks about God, asking Him if He would give me super strength. And I honestly believe He did. It just was a different, more usable form of strength. And I owe a lot to that playground. I take my kids a lot. Something about them sparks the imagination and critical thinking, and who knows maybe some talk time with God. 🙂

Leave a Reply

