Strong People

There are those of us who are independent and extraverted, naturally in charge either because people believe us to be or because we are loudest in the room, those who are almost defiantly unwilling to relinquish control or charge of the situation, ambitious, driven, energetic, hard working born leaders. This is a small number of the population and that is on purpose, thank you, God. I can say that because I am one of them and know that if everyone had this type of drive and energy, there would be this massive imbalance and tenderness and gentleness being seldom seen. Just the truth here. But I have learned that people consider me strong because of something else. It has nothing to do with my powerfully energetic exterior or fighting driven loud soul. It has everything to do with God choosing to strengthen me by great trials and losses that would kill most and tried to even me. And God chose to hear my prayer and help me and rescue me. I lost valuable, treasured, loved friends around the same time as losing Daddy. They all died at once. One was bad, three was devastating. Among other stressors occurring the same time, I was a vegetable, an empty shell of this powerhouse I once was. The go-to girl, the girl who would do it and make it happen, the brazen girl who fearlessly stared or fought down every obstacle and battle was a naked, trembling leaf. I had never experienced such depression. And God chose to fortify me again, build me up side out with the full knowledge that He was the strong One and I was the broken shell His strength was restoring and strengthening. I would be lost were it not for the grace of God. I would be alone and unloved were it not for His grace. I would be nothing washer it not for Him. And this knowledge, attitude of contrition, this appreciation and joy at being given a millionth chance, this wisdom that God is the strong One, this is the real strength of me. And now that I have this, glory all to God, I recognize it in other people because God gave me a bonus of empathy. I can see this silent strength in quiet ones, children, elderly/very mature people, sisters and brothers in Christ, some really poor people, so on. I can feel it. I could not feel much before my lesson was taught me or I felt the wrong things and focused wrong. Strength is spiritual first and foremost. It is humbly drawing close to God, the source of strength. Then the strength trickles down to the mind and then physical. Internal has to come first or it is useless. I had it eight from time to time before but now fully understand it. God is our strength. We are strongest close to Him. It is really that simple. Remember always that God keeps things simple and clear, so if it sounds confusing or complicated, there is an enemy whispering sweet lies into your ear to keep up defeated. Always remember that. Recognize it and rebuke the enemy out loud in Jesus’ name and draw close to God, read the Bible, pray. God will give you strength and wisdom if you humbly ask Him. He is very, very generous!

Leave a Reply

