Elderly Contributions

The elder people of my life are my foundation, my backbone, my sweet spot. My grandmother was an amazing nurse and missionary. She told me later she struggled with school, she was not naturally intelligent that way. Nor did she know tons of stuff about tons of stuff. I never knew that his at all n until she had that his old me much later in life. What do I remember about my invaluable time with her? She loved Jesus. And she knew old songs from Texas I did not otherwise learn. She loved art and music and learning and she sure loved her family and me. That is my memory of her. Not her brilliance but her love and passion for Jesus and family. My other grandma was also hard working but a farmer’s wife. From her, I remember etiquette, good posture, cleanliness, work ethic, warmth, love of family and God, composure, respect, natural remedies to about anything. I do not ever remember what she was not but truly appreciated all that she was. From Beulah Barnett, an elderly widow I sat with sometimes, I learned shading and art for she had been an artist. I remember affirming smiles and encouragement from older people from the church. From both grandpas, I learned laughter and music and love of God. As my dad aged, I learned the importance of time spent just talking. The elderly people of my life made my life rich. I was so blessed to a have them. I would not be who I am without them. So if you feel you have little to offer tech-addicted people, think again and just offer who you are. You are invaluable as an elder. And those who are not elders, get off your worthless tech and take some time with an elder person today. It is much more important and truly invaluable to your character development. 

Leave a Reply

