Humble On Stage

There is a certain pride that you need to get on stage. I have led worship, been in secular and worship bands and orchestras, done public speakinh, sung before thousands, and been in a lot of musicals. You have to have some pride to do this. You have to believe in your ability enough to believe you can and should perform or preferably lead other people watching you. You have to have some pride in your appearance or not care. You have to have some level of belief in yourself that what you are doing is worthwhile and beneficial enough to convey a point, a message, be believable, be natural in the presentation. I walk on stage more confidently than I walk into a room of just a few people, I do not get nervous, I do not wonder if I look ok, I do not hesitate, my mouth does not get dry or wet or anything different. I am not nervous. I focus on what I am doing. Or I wing it. There has to be a measure of pride involved. This pride is not bad, it is focused and purposeful. This pride is necessary for that purpose. When you are getting up there for your own glory or attention or praise or elevation or to prove you are ready worthwhile or better than anyone is where pride turns from are reset into liability, obedience into sin, good into bad. See, the focus is areressetlways to benefit, to do good, to elevate God and help people do that to. When we stay in the good pride, also called self-confidence or as I like to think of it confidence that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me, God blesses our efforts. You see, that kind of pride is actually humility. I am not perfect, but I will go up there, Lord, because you want me to and I trust you will help it go well. Humble does better on stage than self-elevation or perfectionism self-elevaters call it. Once you say the object is perfection, I know your heart has gone the way of sinful pride and you will screw up. I tell you to prepare but trust God every time for the outcome. He may need imperfect for someone for reasons you don’t know. Who cares. You obeyed and praise God He does what is best!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

