The Key to Success

About a million books are written on this topic, so many that I roll my eyes when I see another one. And my method may not work for everyone because everyone is so different, but for me this works. Firstly, my qualifications: I came from a humble farming family in a small town in the Midwest with an abusive sibling, a neglectful parent, and moved out of the house at 16 years of age. An with all that history, I supported myself fully since moving out, paying my own way with a car and full time job and finished full time college to arrive at a doctorate, opened and operated my own private practice and have two really good kids, a good husband and beautiful home in a nice neighborhood, have written and published 4 books, have written and published songs, sang and played piano in bands for large audiences, and more. Now a lot of this is what people consider success and by most standards, I am very successful, rags to riches sort of thing. So I know something of success. But the more I have seen of it, the more convinced I am that the bulk of my success has nothing to do with my own strong will and work ethic and everything to do with my moments of humility where I let God take care of me. I am strong and confident and resourceful but God is all that and about a billion times more in every way. God knows everything and provides more and with love than we can. And my greatest success in my life came when I humbly crumbled in His arms and begged His help. And He provides substantially every single time you ask him to as your goal is to be closer to Him and not just get rich. See, the humble part is the biggest part but the other important part is your motivation for success. I want to please God and serve Him. That is it. I want that more than I want stuff, even nice stuff. That is real success: humble spirit of prayer and wanting to please God. That, my friends, is true success. The other stuff can get pretty distracting from true success. And true success is the only kind that yields eternal rewards. And that is what makes it true. ❤

Leave a Reply

