Progress

Working on the butler pantry and the quilt and being a good, no great, lol mom and wife has its distinct challenges. First challenge is the people I live with. Bahaha. But seriously, trying to get some serious hard work done with people needing you is challenging. You just really want to do the work, do the art, create, finish, goal achieved. And they want me to wait on them. So what do you do? How do you make progress with so many in need? You do what you can when you can. I am not lazy. And I am more motivated by perceived limitations; they challenge me and I love a challenge. So I rally when pressed and tend to do my worst with nothing to do. So, if I focus my effort on what I am doing now, what to save the day, serving where I am, then if I did a food job, the day is saved for a fee minutes and I can get one task done on my projects, wipe the tiles off, seal them, cut out some fabric, measure, one thing. “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.” Really gross analogy if you think about it, but it is true. If I ever stopped to consider how much is on my plate at a given time, I would be overwhelmed and not know where to start. If, however, I focus on the end result and what will be accomplished and how it will help, I just do the first thing when I get a chance to then just do the next thing. And there it is. Do a little at a time. No magic. Just do it. Has act ring, right? And of course, humbly pray a lot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

