Perfect Toenails

I have friends, and I am not judging, that may have a bunch of kids and nursing one and busy busy busy but always have immaculate, polished toenails perfectly exposed to the world (as we can see in our flip flop/sandal state). And that is beautiful but and a nice pampered treat. However, just for me mind you, I find other stuff a wee bit more important than a weekly expensive visit to the nail salon for a pedicure. And while I have amazing feet and love them bare, I am more keen on function than aesthetics. If I out my family an hour and some hard earned money every week, I feel I have wasted money and time on a luxury I do not need. It does not improve our family’s well-being. My kids don’t eat better because my nails were done. Fingernails done is far worse though because that discourages hard work with my hands. Anyway, I guess I recently saw a momma care more about that than her kinda wild children terrorizing the place and got into people’s stuff while she gossipped  with the nail technician and played on her phone. I was just there with my son at the barber shop for his monthly hair cut. Crazy, I marveled, that outward appearance for some holds so much more sway than developing internal respect. If people don’t SEE a problem, though, they don’t have to acknowledge or fix it, so they ignore real issues and cater to the selfish side with selfishness buzz words like “I deserve it”. And that always drives me deeper to be reminded that God deserves our attention, worship, time, love and He REALLY does. He deserves us to care more about obeying than treating ourselves to more benefits and blessings than we really deserve or need. Just an extended thought. 🙂

Leave a Reply

