Over- Thinkingitis

Often I suffer from over-thinkingitis, an illness of either great minds or insane ones, depending on the course of thought at that particular moment. It is my best friend or worst enemy, over-thinkingitis. My mind is triggered or reminded, depending, and goes hoggishly wild over that memory and what it could have meant, what it means now, what future is changed over it, why cats stare at you like that, and when to treat a child’s fever and when to let their body duke it out to build their immune system, with just a tad of I think I’ll add sage this time and see if that is better or worse. And it rages. My mind is ever growing, ever bending, ever searching. I became a doctor to follow my natural curiosity and would have done so anyway without a degree had I not first paid these people like a million dollars for the degree. I might have fifty doctorates right now if I had kept paying these people is how perpetual my train of thought is on many topics all the time. I don t speak of it most of the time because my psychologist mother will say I have ADHD, my friends would call me nuts, my teachers called me a brilliant dreamer, and my husband thinks I am an idiot for not being able to stay focused on one thing at a time. Trust me, you don’t want me to focus on just one thing. If I do, the rest of the world disappears completely until the job or thought is complete, regardless of time or hunger or thirst or anything. So, I am taking about it now because I am seeing more people with my brand of mind and over-thinkingitis. And I want you to know you are not alone. 🙂 And I want you to know that reading and studying and thinking about God’s Word is incredible therapy. Try it and you will see for yourself. 🙂 Love you!!

Leave a Reply

