Mother’s Day Finery

So, we took my Mom out to Golden Corral for lunch last Sunday. It was her idea, because it was less crowded (no line) and she likes very few people around (lol) but likes their variety of foods, and one day is as good as the next to celebrate. And she has never been practical with money (learned that from Daddy lol), but she is practical with things like this. And she is right. What is an arbitrary day to celebrate something that is a part of who I am? Yeah, I know, not a romantic notion, but I am proud of my kids, I know I carried them for 9 hard sickly months each and gave birth without meds (rah!), and they are amazing people so I must have done all right so far despite it all. They both love God, love me and are doing great in school and life. Both are artists like me and both musicians now (piano first with theory then whatever they want). One is great at baseball and basketball now and one loves dance. I feel grateful for the opportunity to be these kids’ mommy. I always wanted to be a mommy and I am so thankful God blessed me with my own children. So one day out of the year to say, “Hey, you’re a mom” is kinda weird really. I am really not all that. I do the best I can but I have screwed up a lot and try not to but probably will again some other way. I fight the same balancing blended families act so many also work on. I try to keep everyone healthy but just got over being sick as a dog for not wearing a mask while scraping popcorn off a ceiling and sanding. In trying to make my kids more n independent, I always wonder if I and ignoring them too much. I teach them laid back and calm by exemplifying that mostly at home but teach them anger by erupting when driving surrounded by “idiot drivers”. So many things I do wrong. My kids see the best and the worst of me. But there is some good there, I hope. And in the end, I pray a lot and trust God will fill in for my deficiencies. And if they want to do something nice for me, that is nice but I would rather they obey. Lol Either way, I’ll take it and keep loving them the best way I can, as my mom did for us and her mom did for them and my Daddy’s mom did for them and my amazing Aunt did for them. I really had incredible role models of motherhood. I just hope the good parts carry forward. πŸ™‚ Happy Mommy’s Day!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

