Facebook/Social Media Disease

Now that I have been off of Facebook for a while, I can look objectively at it. With Twitter, I am on a few minutes each day for encouragement (I only follow a few positive and Christian people) and that is it. Something about Facebook particularly drew me in. It is a disease. It is a faux way to feel connected to people without being connected at all. Very few people who were on there all the time still text me or keep in touch. It is weird. It is like their noses are in it all the time, every experience is documented like a glorification journal all about you, and everyone knows what everyone is doing or had for supper but does not know their spiritual or soul song. It is like a “safe” way to communicate and only present to the world what you want them to see or know but not be known. It is addictive and generally about yourself, like you are what matters most. So I am glad I am off of it. It wasted a lot of my time and was a huge distraction and for me personally an addiction. No thank you. It does not fit into my family or new simplifying take on life or my relationship with God. Let me just use that time to read the Bible and pray and actually be connected with people I love. Just my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

