A Thankful Attitude

I read this excerpt this n morning in my devotions. It was written by Lucy C. Smith. It reads, “One thing is indisputable: the chro NJ ic mood of looking longingly at what we have not, or thankfully at what we have, creates two very different types of charactwr. And we certainly can encourage the one attitude or the other in ourselves.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18 says to always give thanks because God wants that. And all that thankfulness and contentment is in direct opposition and defiance even of the world and it’s “More for Me” attitude. The act of thankfulness and appreciation is a humble one, one that says “I am amazed that you saw fit to bless me so much, Lord, because I do not deserve such blessings.” The spirit of wanting more says the opposite, “I deserve more because I am amazing and should have everything I want that makes me happy.” I choose thankfulness and here is why. Humbling our hearts and being thankful is the only way to lasting happiness, peace, contentment, joy, and most importantly, pleasing the Lord. Being thankful is the key to surviving anything, it makes even the darkest path doable and light. It is truth and goodness in all things. There is never a situation without something for which to be thankful. Ever. It is as matter of focus of the heart. ❤ 

Leave a Reply

