Gone are the Days

Every horrible, slightly uncomfortable, noteworthy, pleasant, beautiful, ugly, amazing, incredulous, etc. thing that has ever happened to me is over. The moment, the days, the weeks all passed. They are gone. Only the now remains. The future is not guaranteed except our eternity in Christ. That is secure. We have lived through every day and every experience up to now. We have suffered, laughed, mourned, celebrated, all of it. But now is who we are because of or in spite of all that has happened. Now is proof of our learning from the past or deciding to relive it, did we learn or did we remain as we were? Was there good as a result in the proud person standing in front of the mirror or shame and impede nice of growth that you wonder if so much damage can be repaired? Or worse, are you so distracted you are lethargic to it all living like a sort of fleshy robot? I ponder things like this about myself now. I believe what purposeful choices I make now if done right would result in maturity and growth and strength and wisdom, with God’s help. I think if done wrong may damage my relationship with God and threaten my future. I believe we all have this free will choice but like it or not we face the consequences of our own decisions we make. Is momentary pleasure worth shaming the name of Christ, throwing what He an suffered for under the bus and dishonor in Him? Or should the decisions I make be purposeful to worship Him and honor His name? It is deep. It is the decision right now. In ten minutes I will have the same decision. In two hours I have the same decision to make. But right now is all I know I have so right now I will decide that forever with God is more important than any momentary pleasure that is gotten in His stead. Tomorrow’s are gone and their decisions gone. The beautiful thing about God is He goes by what decision you make now. He is less concerned about past mistakes than you might think. “Now, this decision, is the important one. I choose to worship God.” That statement should be tattooed on us, imprinted on us, put everywhere in the house for it will always each and every time be the important truth of the right decision. To heck with the past. Go from right now. “Right now, I will honor God and not me.”

Leave a Reply

