Ready, Aim, Wait, Keep Waiting…

Seems like we have to be ready and prepared all the time and then are in wait mode much of our lives. Never big on patience, I realize as a Christian I should be because patience is one of the attributes of God (fruits of the Spirit). So, having been told that patience is not the having to wait but the attitude while waiting, I received some hope from that as it proves everyone has to wait. Prepared people have to wait, unprepared people have to wait. But when our turn up finally arrives, those prepared can actually do something while those unprepared generally have to first be sent away to prepare and have to stand in line again. And those who have fallen asleep miss their turn entirely. I see salvation this way. If we are prepared, when the time comes when Jesus comes back, we get to see Him. If we are not prepared, we will be in trouble and may not have time to get ourselves in order. And if we are sleeping, we miss our chance entirely. We have to be ready. We have to be alert. Being a Marine’s daughter (Semper Fi!), I was told stories about rifle work, sniper’s task, and the hardest part of it being to stay alert when in place and ready and aimed up. You have to wait, for the right time, the right opportunity, a clear shot. Not that the rapture will involve us shooting at a person, but the principle remains, focus is our hardest task. Patience is our goal, the waiting well. I want to wait well. I want people to say, “There is that crazy girl, always talking about God and Jesus coming back, always trying to serve”. Nothing would make me happier than to think I am waiting well for my Savior. We need to think this way. We must. There is eternity at stake. And if that sounds crazy, so be it. I am okay with crazy for the right reason. I care what God thinks about me not people. I answer to Him for eternity, I owe no one else an explanation. They have their own eternity to contemplate. Wait well with me. Keep focused with busy hands in service, kindness and gentleness to everyone we happen upon, love to everyone crossing our path. This is waiting well.

Leave a Reply

