The Wind Bends the Trees

I picture in my mind a spot in a paradise beach, somewhere secluded with palm trees, sand and surf but not too secluded to not have a hammock and ready made fruit drinks. And I picture laying on said hammock and sipping on said fruit drink and enjoying the sound of the surf. Hours float into days and weeks and I am unmoved, peaceful, calm. There is a breeze from the ocean, even a strong one, and the palm trees bend. My soul is reminded that palm trees remain strong in all winds because they bend with it. They are flexible. They do not stand so rigid that they are unmovable and fight the wind just to break away. They dig their roots in and flex. They do not cease being trees. But they live through even hurricanes and are strong get for it. I take comfort in this bending of the Trees. I take comfort that I can move on response to storms that arise. I can flex and not break, but my flexing is bowing to God. He protects me as I bow before Him, no matter what happens. Then I can settle back down after in my hammock and sip my fruit drinks.

Leave a Reply

