Reminiscing with Scenes From Times Past

Walking on a cool, crisp cloudless day, my feet decided a road less traveled with the ticket for this liesurely stroll. i arrived at a little bit of a clearing in the trees lining this rocky dirt road or path rather. Through the break I could see two black eyes looking straight into mine. Maybe 30 feet seperated our bodies but our eyes met and minds explored each other’s motives. Big ears straightened tall and neck extended and we observed each other for quite a few moments until she concluded that I was no threat and continued grazing. A beautiful doe alone and then soon not alone as several others appeared around the cusp of trees that had masked them from me. Fifteen total, a small herd for Michigan, all feasting happily on my dad’s corn. He would not be pleased but I enjoyed these animals and enjoyed more the acceptancee of them as a safe place. Maybe a half hour passed, maybe longer, until my black lab refound me after an exploratory mission and consequently found the deer to chase off. Sheba’s playful antics could not sway me from my present peaceful state of mind at the exchange I just experienced. My mind takes me back to that moment sometimes, where wild ones saw me and knew we were connected somehow and accepted me as safe. Both built by a common Father, it does the sould a world of good to make friends with an animal, many. The more we see and know of the creation, the greater homage and worship we pay the Creator. All this is His. He still rules it. And what is made by Him still knows it is made by HIm. They are keenly aware, and being with them reminds us, we who are faced with more distractions than ever, more lies than ever, we can retain a sample and reminder of that purity, that worship, that humbling of ego and uplifting of uniqueness inn design. We are greater when we make Him greater.

Leave a Reply

