Pokemon Card Lessons

Let me be clear, I have less than no interest in Pokemon cards. Less than zero, always been true. Hated them even as a kid when they were popular and ridiculous that they are still around at all. No offence to those who love it. Everyone is different, thank God. However, my son, bless his heart, is BIG into Pokemon cards and I am big into my son, so guess what? We do Pokemon cards. And here is the lesson he learned. 1. Organization. How to put cards in order according to their “official” ordering (yeah, it exists). So, we had a list from the net and had to seek out the cards in that order and put them in order in their sleeves. To do this, he used his inhuman memory of what he had and didn’t have out of like 700 cards. I am still amazed he really did know all that in his head from memory. Incredible. Then we sorted the cards by type (color for me) and put them in a line with the name on top showing. 2. Teamwork. He called out the type and name of those he knew he had and I looked through the names and gave it to him and he put it in the sleeve. We were a team doing this. If I didn’t see one off hand, he gave a second pair of eyes and we got it. 3. Focus. Every so often he would want to stop progress and tell me why he liked so and so. I kept him on task with reasoning that if we finish he can tell me later all the stories of them and so on. I kept him working on the project and not getting sidetracked, a big problem usually with both of us. So, we completed the project much faster than if we heard stories all night. 5. Family time. We spent days on this project as we had an hour or two here or there. We had a lot of time working together on a task. We talked, supported each other. He talks about how cool it was we worked together and got it done so fast. It meant a lot to him. It meant a lot to me. When I am focusing on a task, my mind can focus somewhat for that little bit of time and that helps pace it lower. So there it is. Sometimes it is easy to avoid things we don’t like (like my playing Barbies with Kat the other day- UGH!!!). It is easy to make them go play by themselves. But if we do that with everything, we don’t enter their world, we miss out, they miss out. All these lessons would have remained unlearned. All this bonding time would not have happened. There would not be a joyful memory moment for them to pull out as scared adults from their childhood where they felt love and secure. Sure there are other ways to do this but kids play with what they love and when you purposefully enter their world, it means so much more to them. You got their backs. They feel loved on purpose. And once they are adults with their own kids and hate those toys, they will realize you sacrificed time for them and feel even more special. Good stuff!!!

Leave a Reply

