A Long Ways From Normal is Pretty Close to Perfect

Many of my friends that I love or just know and many other acquaintances and many of my former patients were consumed about being or appearing “normal”, whatever that is. I started thinking what they actually are wanting or needing when they fixate on that and then I wondered why I never wanted normalcy. And here are my findings and contemplations. People are made by God to be social. We want to be accepted by others, fit in, be one of the crowd because loneliness and rejection are pretty serious fears of about everyone. If we think we deviate from certain social “norms” or standards or rules, we stand out and are more easily picked off and discarded (in our fear-driven minds). And this does happen to many with disabilities, deficits, or rule breakers who are carted off to jail punishments. So that fear is validated and supported in their minds. But fear is the driver. And while it is imperative to maintain order and safety by keeping the rules and moral rules of a society in order for everyone to be safe and free to move about the cabin, people take it to another level to (like in high school) be popular, well liked, okay, existence validated. Taking it to this level, though, can demand that you disregard a gift God gave you to develop that might not be so popular or normal, especially considering your family upbringing. Thus you might not be living to your full potential because of fear. One of the gifts God gave me is fearlessness. That has been challenged as late as my daddy’s health is fading and my hormones are in overdrive (that season of life) but I will get back to myself in time and be fearless once again. But that gift allowed me to not need to be “normal”. Don’t get me wrong, I am very moral and respectful of rules to maintain order and thus freedom, as it is necessary. But that is the extent of it. Being rejected has not been a fear because I am more afraid of missing out on what God intended me to do and gifted me with. As a kid, I loved superheroes and wanted to be one. And I can get closest to that by being all that God allows and empowers me to be because He gives more to those who use what He gave them. Respect for God trumps fear of societal rejection. That seems to be a good choice. I’ll keep it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

