On Valentine’s Day

I always hated Valentine’s Day. There’s a confession for you. Why did I hate it? Because I was always either single or married to men who really did not appreciate Valentine’s Day as a valid thing or day to celebrate love at all. It was just another day. That bothers me for the same reason my birthday brothers me. I want it to be an enormous deal but apparently I am the only one who feels that way. 🙂 Now don’t get me wrong, I get a few gifts and Birthday wishes trickling in from friends and family here and there and my best friend always loves on me for my birthday, but for Valentine’s Day (2 days prior to my birthday), it has always been a desert wasteland. The problem is that I am a secret romantic and want romance in life and am never is a position to be romanced, it seems. So, Valentine’s Day in general has always been a sad moment, a time of seeing other women getting roses and jewelry (not that those things are necessary) and I don’t even get a card. And there is my life. Evidently “strong”, independent women appear to not need romance in their lives, don’t need to be made to feel important enough to get a small gift and a “thank you for being in my life”. So this year, expected pretty much the same romantic neglect for this romantic commercial holiday and I find myself instead looking at a sweet little gift from a sweet beloved friend and a spark of hope ignites. Maybe acknowledgement from a loved one suffices and can take the place of a long time of cringing at the thought of another disappointing Valentine’s Day. Maybe one dear friend can lift the curse just by encouraging the heart. And maybe we who have always had that trepidation over this holiday can lift each other up and just acknowledge our place in the world. Maybe we could all enjoy this coveted romantic but deeply unnerving day more. It worked for me this year. One friend can make a huge difference. Long live our true loved friends!

Leave a Reply

