Tech versus Think

Too much technology is literally mind numbing. We as a society have opted to be entertained and minds manipulated rather than think for ourselves in our free time. People are staring at screens rather than studying or speaking with each other. People can relate more to a fantasy than reality. Then they are surprised when people take this narcissistic, fantastic behavior to a new level and harm another person. It is a trend. No one looks around, knows their neighbors, goes to church, helps out a friend on moving day, etc. They are “busy” entertaining themselves. Unless it serves them, they won’t serve. And this mind shattering illness is rampant. I find lately that I want to run away to a tech-free zone and communicate with someone, play music, sing around a fire, roast marshmallows, play board games, paint, paint, paint. I want to know my neighbors and help them paint their fence. I want to have coffee on all the time for those who happen to stop by. I want to look people in the eyes and find out what makes them want to breathe. I want to live with the compassion and passion about life that I feel. I do not want to be entertained, but I want to learn and create and express with another soul. I do not want tech to think for me, I want to think for myself. I do not want media to bend me, I want to be worth reporting on. I want to thrive, not simply live. I want to be at peace and joy with God and not get lost in the cares of the day. I want to make life something to be felt and experienced and not inputted onto a screen. I want rolls and smells and not airbrushed sterile 2-D Pics and movies. I want real, I want bad notes, blemishes, dirt, imperfection, facial expressions. I am tired of touched up, fake, enhanced, perfected, synchronized. I am tired of staring at lit up boxes. I want to create sculptures and art and piano pieces that make people feel something. I want people to feel something, care about something, think something is special. Anything. I want people to think.

Leave a Reply

