Cons & Pros

The subject inadvertently arose today about pros and cons. There is now and always will be good and bad in any and every situation in which you will find yourself. Many times one of those has more going for it, sometimes it is pretty balanced. However, that does not negate the fact that both are always around. Feeling pretty good, you are choosing to focus on the good stuff. If in a funk or depression, you are probably focusing on the bad stuff. Of course that sounds logical in a very feeling friendly world. And as I explore these things, I assure you that I am feeling pretty worthless right now and not a miniscule amount of tears have run down my cheeks. I am currently feeling pretty bad, so I am writing to lift myself up again and in so doing, maybe I can give you a little lift too. So, yes, life often sucks. There is more bad around us than good it seems quite often. There are huge uglies like terrorism, governmental controls, leadership selfishness, corruption everywhere, media puppets and governmental workers working overtime to convince us it is all wonderful, cancer in friends and family, illness in me right now, caretaking complications, children to raise that want your complete attention all the time, constant criticism and censure and immorality from family members, life complications, the list goes on and on. Yes, it exists and is very real and sucks rotten eggs. Got it. But. And this is a big but. There are positives for those of us who are God’s through Jesus Christ. Why? We have hope. We have hope for the future but we also have hope right smack now. This hope is life with God, which depends not on circumstantial goodness but God’s much bigger eternal goodness. He is enormous and enormously good. And every single day, he gives us breath in our lungs, activity in our brain cells, the ability to work, the peace and joy and love in us through His Holy Spirit. It really doesn’t matter how frustrating life is. What matters and what unequivocally has to matter is that God’s enormous goodness is way bigger than all this crap. There is no hope or even proper focus without His help on the other end of our humility. I am not equipped to handle any of this. I can’t continue to pretend that I can. But. Again with the big but. But I am capable of the incredible act of bravery which sends me to my knees and allows me to let God work through me or for me as He chooses. Then. I. Win. Maybe the only place in the world right now or even any time in the future that I can be truly happy is only when on my knees before God but with Him. Even if that were the case forever, the phenomenal Maker of everything we know of who happens to know and love every detail of me would be all that I need. Maybe I need to try to make that all that I want too. He did allow me to decide this for myself. Free will can be my greatest downfall or greatest ally. It is my choice. It is your choice for you too.

Leave a Reply

